The bundt whisperer

So the engagement party yielded an excess of eggnog, to say the least.

photo (8)

It was a snowy day today so I decided to stay inside and do some baking, much to Daphne’s disappointment (she wanted to play ball in the blizzard!)

photo (9)

I’m a better baker than I am a cook. I think it’s because you don’t have to worry about keeping baked goods warm. For some reason, when I cook, I have trouble juggling all the components of a meal so they all get to the table warm at the right time. I guess cooking is just too much pressure for me (which is explains why I’m a law school drop out).

I went with a bundt cake. It’s a Spiced Eggnog Bundt to be exact, inspired by this recipe. Ever since my famous Baily’s Irish Creme Chocolate Chip Bundt of 2011, I’ve been a bit of a “bundt whisperer”. I think it has a lot to do with the pan you use and how you finesse your pan. The key is to grease AND flour your pan before you put the batter in. Also, you need a nice, sturdy, metal pan. The kind that is heavy. If the pan is such a formidable piece of metal that there’s a chance you might burn yourself through the oven mitts when taking it out of the oven, it’s probably a good bundt pan.

I just took my bundt out of the oven. Here it is in all it’s glory:

photo (9)

I’ll let you know how it comes out. 🙂

Edit:

It came out great. So, I introduce to you, for the first time, my holiday Spiced Eggnog Brandy Bundt Cake with Eggnog glaze

photo (10)

photo (11)

2 thoughts on “The bundt whisperer

Leave a Reply

