A taste of life with a service dog

Life with a service dog is not all butterflies and gumdrops. You’ll probably read a lot about the struggles I have to endure daily to maintain my dog’s training levels and hygiene, about getting harassed by the public and thrown out of places where I have a right to be, but then, again, there is a warm fuzzy size.

Daphne and I have been working together for almost 2 and a half years now. She is my rock. Many mornings, she is the reason I get out of bed, and the reason I leave the house. I still maintain that if I did not have Daphne, I would not have Stefan because she allows me to take those baby steps into life that are necessary to maintain relationships. I probably wouldn’t have started dating again if I did not have her to support me.

I’m childless and I still live with my parents. Daphne is the closest thing I have to a child and she is all I own in this world. She is my everything. So, when I stumbled upon this song and it reminded me of her, I had to make a tribute video.

The video shows scenes from our life, shots from the past 2.5 years. In it, you will see Daphne supporting me in good times and in bad, in celebration and in illness. It’s true, she is always by my side. She catches every tear and hears every chuckle. She’s an extension of me. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

“She’s got a way about her/don’t know what it is/but I know that I can’t live without her…”

Leave a Reply

