Jellybean-fueled Knitting

This is a little-known fact on this blog, but I happen to be a pretty good knitter. I’ve been taking lessons since I was in high school from an excellent teacher who has been featured in Vogue Knitting.

However, one thing I’ve never learned how to do was knit on a loom. So, I was so happy when I came downstairs Christmas morning and found a whole pile of knitting looms, hooks, and needles as well as two mason jars full of jelly beans.

looms

With help from a friend through the Facebook, I found a pattern on youtube that was beautiful in its simplicity and also helped me learn the basics of loom knitting. It’s a slouchy beanie hat:

For this project I used just over one skein of Lion Brand Hometown USA yarn in classic blue. This yarn is 100% acrylic (I get allergies from wool sometimes) and is really affordable. You can buy it at AC MooreMichael’s, or online.

This pattern calls for 2 knits in between the yarn over and the purl, but I just did one knit. That makes the holes bigger, it made it more slouchy, and I figured it was okay because I was working with really chunky yarn and my 29.5″ loom had 41 pegs. If you’re using medium yarn and/or your loom has less than 40 pegs, I would keep that extra knit in there.

I got started right away. When sugar is combined with knitting, there is almost nothing stopping me. I have to admit though, I am a bit visually impaired, which makes knitting very difficult. In 2009, I was diagnosed with a cornea disorder called Keratoconus or “KC”. This basically means that the proteins in my cornea aren’t shaped right and my cornea is shaped like a cone. What this does is it allows too much light into the eye, causing debilitating migraines and distortion that can’t be corrected with glasses.

KC is a progressive disorder, but there is a treatment that can stop the progression called corneal cross-linking. It can also be cured with a live donor transplant. The effects of KC can also be tempered with hard contacts. I have already had the cross-linking done. It was an extremely painful process. The resources will tell you it’s not, but, it is. The progression of my disorder has stopped, but I still have a moderately-advanced case (a 7 out of 10 on a scale from 1 (no KC) to 10 (transplant time)). I can’t wear the contacts because I have a complex-type migraine that the contacts actually exacerbate. My migraines cause me to have stroke-like symptoms, hence the need for a service dog.

So, anyway, that is why I rarely knit anymore. However, I could not resist the temptation to learn to loom knit, so, fueled up on jellybeans, I tried out the hat.

photo 3

Just started on the hat, halfway into the jellybeans

It has a nice swirly pattern

It has a nice swirly pattern

About halfway done with the hat

About halfway done with the hat

It was an incredibly quick project. It knitted out very neatly. One thing I liked about the loom was that you can easily double back the brim to make it nice and tight and not have to worry about ends or sewing or anything…and it was much easier to do on the loom. When I made a mistake, it was a little harder for me to go back and fix it, because I’m not as familiar with loom knitting. I actually had to borrow my mother’s eyes for awhile (in other words, she had to help me out…thanks mom!). But in the end, I think it turned out pretty nice. Here I am wearing it:

I am not the best model.

I am not the best model.

It’s got a nice pattern from the back:

photo 1 (2)

Also, I figure that since I have a gigantic head I wasn’t doing the hat justice. So, I let my cousin Jacquie, from the French branch of my family wear it beret-style. I think it looks lovely:

c'est si beau!

c’est si beau!

Leave a Reply

